Sprinkles On Top

The little things that make my day…

Here’s to you…& First Poll! June 29, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — Erin @ 3:54 pm
Tags: , , ,

Today’s Here’s To You… will be short and sweet. Just like the product I’m honoring… two classic candies.

The first…can I get a drum roll for….the TOOTSIE ROLL! A classic candy that is the perfect combo of chocolate and chewy. You are a delicious treat I can throw in my pocket and buy in bulk. Recently I have tried many of your other flavors–grape, strawberry lemonade, etc…So now not only do you provide me a chocolate fix but you’re there for me when I need a little fruity in my life.

Tootsie Roll History from wikipedia: In 1896 its founder Leo Hirshfield, an Austrian immigrant to the United States, started his candy business in a small shop located in New York City.He wanted a “chocolate” candy that would not melt easily in the heat, and would be an economical artificial alternative to traditional chocolates. He named the candy after the nickname of his daughter, Clara “Tootsie” Hirshfield.

The second… Milk Duds! You truly are the bad boy of the classic candies: never failing to stick to my teeth, probably causing my cavities. But for some reason I keep bringing you on my movie dates, you are my ultimate movie candy and I can’t get enough of you.

My feelings exactly, sir.

Milk dud history, from wikipedia: 1926: F. Hoffman and Company, Chicago, tries to manufacture a perfectly round, chocolate-covered caramel candy, but when its machines turn out confections that are less than round, an employee calls them “duds”.

Here’s to you….Tootsie Rolls & Milk Duds.

MY FIRST POLL!

 

Leave a Reply

