Sprinkles On Top

The little things that make my day…

Art July 3, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — Erin @ 10:14 am
Tags: , , ,

According to wikipedia, an artist is:

  1. A person who creates art.
  2. A person who creates art as an occupation.
  3. A person who is skilled at some activity.

Looking at #3, I question who can’t be called an artist. I think everyone is talented in some artistic outlet. Whether its photography, tattooing, writing, painting, rapping, architecture, speaking, etc…everyone can express themselves in a unique way that they love. Many say you are only an artist if you practice the visual arts. I prefer to think everyone is an artist, but not everyone is a great singer, or actor, or sculptor…and that is where we all differ.

The 2nd picture on the google search for "artist". I liked it better that the first one.

That being said, I have never been talented in the ways of drawing, painting, pottery, cough*coloringinthelines*cough. The closest I have gotten to being praised on any of those artistic abilities was when I was asked to draw a pictures for the 4 year old I babysat and get a “wow thats realllly good”…yes, compared to a 4 year old. But I’ll take it! And I’ll draw for her anytime to make myself feel like I can.

This kid colors like me.

Anyways, because I have none of these skills it makes the painters/sculpters/drawers that do all that more impressive to me. I appreciate their dedication and beautiful ability to make art through the movement of their hands. Also, people who dedicate their lives to creating and sharing their art are truly impressive. Not many of us choose a career based on what we love, let alone a field that is so incredibly personal and that has such a slim chance of really “making it”.

One blog, damncoolpics.blogspot.com, features lots of cool art everyday. One I am especially impressed by is their post on hyper realistic paintings. They are paintings that actually make you question whether the blog is lying to you that they are paintings. Like this one:

Incredibly impressive, take a look at the rest for yourself: http://damncoolpics.blogspot.com/2010/07/18-hyper-realistic-paintings.html or just click on the picture to link to the article.

 

Leave a Reply

